DAVID NEWTON – “POLITICALLY INCORRECT” COMEDY SHOW

27 05 2009

I went to see David Newton’s new comedy show “Politically Incorrect” at the Jo’burg Civic Theatre last week. Now the only comedian that usually makes me laugh till my tummy hurts and my mascara runs, is Marc Lottering. Enter David Newton, who has taken a close second after Marc Lottering in my books. Now I have to be honest, I’ve not actually heard of David Newton before, so I was not sure what to expect on the funny front. However, I was pleasantly surprised, in fact, my funny bones got a real exercise!

Aptly named “Politically Incorrect” it runs the gamut from farting on escalators, to bulimia and anorexia, to picking up hitch-hikers and free range chickens!

There was also a serious note to the show. The idea is to use comedy as a vehicle to get across the message of Colorectal Cancer, a.k.a bum or bowel cancer, as David has made this his Corporate Social Responsibility project. Some you may have read that Farrah Fawcett, one of the original “Charlie’s Angels” from the 1970’s, has this form of cancer.

So expect to laugh and learn at the same time. The lesson? Brace yourself for a poke in the rear, that my just save your life! So get your Oncologist on the phone now.

David’s show is on at the Johannesburg Civic Theatre till Saturday, 30 May 2009 – tickets at Computicket.

Check out his website – http://www.davidnewton.co.za


Actions

Information

Leave a comment