THE DIANA CHRONICLES

17 06 2009

The Diana Chronicles

I am reading Tina Brown’s “Diana Chronicles” at the moment. It jumps out at you from the bookshelf, with its pretty pink cover, much like Diana did while she was alive.

I’ve always been a royalist, ever since I was 6 years old. I vividly remember staying home from school when I was in Sub B (Grade 2) to watch the royal wedding of Charles and Diana in 1981. The spectacle and pageantry was beyond belief, and the dress had the longest train I’d ever seen.

Since that Royal Wedding, I kept a scrap book of each and every picture of Diana that I could find. As I was 6 and didn’t yet know about Pritt or Bostick, I used my ingenuity to glue the pictures to the page, in the form of grape flavoured bubblegum! Each time I opened the book, the smell of grapes filled the room. Sadly, this royal scrap book got lost with all the house moves I’ve made.

Like most little girls, I wanted to marry a prince. When I was 9, I had visions of marrying Prince William. He was a baby at the time, and one of my teachers heard about my dream. She dismissed it as ridiculous immediately. Why do teachers crush your dreams with stiletto heels? She must be eating her words now, if she’s still alive, because a South African swimmer is engaged to Prince Albert of Monaco, and Prince Harry is dating Chelsey Davy, the daughter of a wealthy Zimbabwean (is that an oxymoron or what!) and she studied at my Alma Mater, the University of Cape Town.

The moral of this little anecdote? Anything and everything is possible, so dream big and live large.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

