The End of an Era, as Spirit Sundae draws to a close after 9 years.

22 12 2012

The New Wave Productions team recently finished filming the last episode of the final season of Spirit Sundae (SABC1 on Sundays at 10h00). Since the show was part of my life for the past 7 years, I thought it appropriate to pay homage to this multi-faith series, dedicated to inspiring tolerance and understanding.

My very first insert that I directed was way back in 2005 when Oprah done her first LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE TOUR. It was the hottest ticket in town at the time, and sold out in a few minutes. I was fortunate to get a media invite via Associated Magazines, who publish the Oprah Magazine in South Africa. Ever the eager beaver, I was the first person at the press conference on that chilly June morning at the Sandton Convention Centre. The 3 hour talk was emotional and touching, leaving me in tears. “Listen to your inner voice” is the bit that I remember most.

Here is the insert that we shot on that day.

Over the years, I learned so many things about different religions and faiths and met an array of interesting people and celebrities, like the ones in the photos below.

DANNY K AND ME

Mishkah and Jamali

Tansey Coetzee and me

It’s the end of an era, as Spirit Sundae ends its 9 year run on SABC1.

Watch the final 2 episodes on Sunday, 23 December and 30 December 2012 on SABC1 at 10h00.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

